back to the basics

by truthsoftaylor

ImageIt’s time my friends, time for a lifestyle change. I am ready to begin a journey of awareness; spiritual, physical, mental, environmental. I want to starting doing and stop dreaming. The change starts with me.  I can do this. I’ve gone seven whole days without food, which at the time seemed so impossible, but comparing that to a whole lifestyle change it seems only a mere hurdle.  It’s so easy to say you are going to do something; the hard part is actually doing it. I have to do this, for me. I feel that putting this out there will keep me accountable.  Maybe even spark something in you, to start following through or things you want to change in yourself.  Some of the changes I want for myself are minor and some major. I know this is going to take time and I can’t expect to wake up and just be the person I’m hoping to be. Old Habits are hard to break, but they can be broken. I remember when I was a thumb sucker. I sucked my thumb through 4th grade. It was time to stop. My mom gave me an incentive to stop. If I stopped I would get an American Girl Doll. At the time just the doll itself cost $84. My mom told me it takes 30days to break a habit, so that was my goal. I had 30 days to stop sucking my thumb, something I had done 8 years straight. I guess you could say I was extremely motivated to get that Doll and I stopped in less than 30 days. With that said I know it is in my somewhere, that little spark of motivation, that hint of perseverance, waiting to be ignited again.

What I am looking to become:

Eco-friendly as much as I am able to be

Health conscious and aware

Natural

Spiritually aware

Organic

Resourceful

Hippie, granola, tree hugging, love all, nature queen goddess of the land (in extreme sense). I feel like I have always had this in me, my family would agree. It’s just a matter of putting it into play, be who I naturally am, and stop trying to be what people want me to be.  Personally, I think we all need to be who we naturally are and go back to the basics. Society tells us to add unnecessary things to ourselves to improve our being but we are actually and naturally equipped to be awesome. I need to remind myself this every day. I also need to remember that this is a personal journey. I cannot expect people to do the same or even like what I am doing but I should respect their own lifestyle in hope to earn respect for mine.

I plan to keep you all posted on my journey. This is only the beginning. There is much for me to do still to get me on my way back to the basics.